Print Page   |   Sign In   |   Join
Community Search
Member Login

67th Annual Meeting Agenda

Sunday, April 29, 2018
3:00 p.m.         Registration at Radisson Blu Chicago 
6:00 p.m.         Opening Program at Museum of Contemporary Art Chicago
                         220 East Chicago Ave., Chicago, Illinois

Monday, April 30, 2018

 7:30 a.m.        Registration at Radisson Blu Chicago

 7:45 a.m.        Bankruptcy Judges Breakfast

                         Magistrate Judges Breakfast

9:00 a.m.         Welcome Remarks and Introductions  
                          Beth Herrington, 7th Circuit President
                          Chief Judge Diane Wood, United States Court of Appeals  for the Seventh Circuit

9:15 a.m.         Seventh Circuit Mandatory Initial Discovery Pilot (MIDP) Update

                         District Judge Robert Dow, N.D. Ill

9:20 a.m.         Report of the Clerk of Court

                         Gino J. Agnello, Clerk of the Court of Appeals

9:30 a.m.          First Plenary Session: 

From #MeToo to #NotHere: Organizational Culture & Sexual Harassment    

District Judge Tanya Walton Pratt, S.D. Ind.
Debbie Brake, University of Pittsburgh School of Law
Camille Olson, Seyfarth Shaw
Wendy J. Muchman, Chief of Litigation & Professional Education, Attorney Registration and Disciplinary Commission
Margot Klein, Law Clerk, N. D. Ill.


  ------------------>10:00 a.m.       Spouses Event
                                                  Architecture Boat Tour/Lunch At Terzo Piano

10:45 a.m.       Morning Break   

11:00 a.m.        Second Plenary Session: 
                         Protecting Electronic Information: What You Need To Know  

                          Erik Kamerling, Senior Director of Cyber Security Technology

12:30 p.m.       Annual Luncheon

                         Chief Judge Diane Wood, United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
                         Presentation of President’s Award
                         Kimberly Foxx, Cook County States’ Attorney

 2:15 p.m.        Third Plenary Session:

                         What To Do About Gun Violence:
                         Arnie Duncan, Co-chair Obama Presidential Center
                         Kimberly Foxx,Cook County State’s Attorney
                         Valerie Jarrett, Board of Directors, U2
                         Lori Lightfoot ,Mayer Brown

 3:15 p.m.         Afternoon Break
3:30 p.m.          Bankruptcy breakout  

                         Successor Liability – A Very Bumpy Road that Put GM in a Ditch!
                         Who has Jurisdiction to Fix the Potholes?

                          Bankruptcy Judge,James M. Carr, S.D. Ind. Bankruptcy
                          Professor Ralph Brubaker, University of Illinois College of Law
                          Mark J Fisher, Schiff Hardin
                          L. Katie Mason, Reinhart, Boerner, Van Deuren S.C.

                          Criminal Breakout

                          NCAA Bribery Cases: The Latest in the Expanding Criminalization
                          of Private Controversies through the Federal Fraud Statutes?

                          Thomas Kirsch, U.S. Attorney, N.D. Ind.
                          David Stetler, Law Office of David Stetler
                          District Judge. Thomas Durkin, N.D. Ill.
                          District Judge Joe Billy McDade, C.D. Ill.
                         Civil Breakout  

                         Blockbuster Seventh Circuit Cases

                         Circuit Judge Diane Sykes, United Sates Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit
                         District Judge Gary Feinerman, N.D. Ill.
                         Michael Scodro, Mayer Brown
                         David Franklin, Solicitor General Illinois
4:30 p.m.         District Breakouts
                         Northern District of Illinois Panel

                         Roshna Bala Keen, Loevy & Loevy
                         Beth Jantz, Federal Public Defender
                         Cardelle Spangler, Winston & Strawn

                         Central and Southern Districts of Illinois Panel

                         Jessica Galanos, Helpler Broom
                         Julie Bruch, O’Halloran, Kasoff
                         Ali Summers, AUSA S.D. Ill.
                         Northern and Southern Districts of Indiana Panel
                         Eastern and Western Districts of Wisconsin Panel
                         Megan Stelljes, Foley & Lardner
                         Danielle Schroder, Hawks Quindel
                         Zachary Corey, AUSA E.D. Ill.

5:30 p.m.         Annual Reception/Cocktail Party

 6:30 p.m.        Annual Dinner

                         Presentation of Past President Award
                         Presentation of Pro Bono Awards
                         Presentation of American Inn of Court Professionalism Award

                         Speaker: Hon. Elena Kagan, Associate Justice, United States Supreme Court

                         Key Note Speaker: Jeffrey Toobin, Legal Analyst for CNN and The New Yorker
Tuesday, May 1, 2018

7:30 a.m.          Registration at the Radisson Blu

7:45 a.m.          Young Lawyers’ Breakfast with the Judges

Judge Edmond E. Chang
                          Clerks Breakfast

9:00 a.m.          Memorials

                          District Judge Denise LaRue (Circuit Judge David F. Hamilton)
                          District Judge Larry McKinney (Magistrate Judge Tim A. Baker)
                          District Judge Milton Shadur (Magistrate Judge Sheila M. Finnegan)
                          Bankruptcy Judge. Robert Ginsberg (District Judge David Coar)
                          District Judge Paul Edward Plunkett

9:30 a.m.         Fourth Plenary Session:

                        Accessing Justice: Pro Se Litigation in the Courts of the 7th Circuit

                        District Judge Michael Reagan, S.D.Ill.
                        Jonathan Nagy, Section Chief of the Correctional Litigation Unit, Indiana AG's office
                        Kristine Seufert, Pro Se Clerk, S.D.Ind.
                        Michael K. Fridkin, Senior Staff Attorney, Office of Staff Law Clerks, 7th Circuit
                        J. Cunyon Gordon, Director of the Settlement Assistance Program, Chicago Lawyers
                        Committee for Civil Rights

10:30 a.m.        Morning Break

 10:45 a.m.      Fifth Plenary Session: 

                        Protecting Democracy’s Keystone Right: 
Tales from the Front in the Battle Over a Fair Voting System
                         Professor Pam Karlan, Stanford Law School
                         Nicole Austin Hillery, Brennan Center
                         Desmond Meade, Florida Restoration of Rights

12:00 p.m.        Annual Business Luncheon for Federal Judges and Clerks of Court
                          Annual Meeting and Business Luncheon of
                          the Seventh Circuit Bar Association

1:30 p.m.          Executive Session for Members of the Federal Judiciary

3:00 p.m           Judicial Council Meeting

4:00 p.m.          Adjourn